West Tawakoni Political Forum is scheduled for October 4th, and the 19th at 6pm.

Place 1. Leon Myers

Place 3. Alan Shoemake and Karen Cory

Place 5 Jared Calkins and Bill Creed.


Residents of the City of West Tawakoni who are registered to vote with the Hunt County Voters Administration Office may vote in the November 7thElection.  Residents must have their voter registration card or their driver’s license to vote. 

An election is hereby ordered to be held on November 7, 2017 for the purpose of:

  • Election of one (1) Council Member Place #1 – Two Year Full Term
  • Election of one (1) Council Member Place #3 – Two Year Full Term
  • Election of one (1) Council Member Place #5 – Two Year Full Term

Early voting by personal appearance will be conducted each weekday at
Hunt County Voter Administration Office, 2217 Washington, Greenville, Texas 75401

Between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. beginning on October 23, 2017
And ending on November 3, 2017.

Additional early voting will be held as follows:
H.C. Voter Registration 2217 Washington, October 24, 2017       7:00 a.m.  –  7:00 p.m.
H.C. Voter Registration 2217 Washington, November 2, 2017       7:00 a.m.  –  7:00 p.m.

Applications for ballot by mail shall be mailed to:

Mina Cook
Hunt County Election Administrator
2217-A Washington
Greenville, Texas 75401

Applications for ballot by mail must be received, (not postmarked) no later than the close of business on October 27, 2017.

Election Day, November 7th, 2017; voting hours: 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Issued this the 8th day of August 2017

Keith Goodson

Keith Goodson is pastor of Hope of Glory Worship Center and Owner-Operator of Keith Goodson Serv. Keith’s goal as a Councilman is to improve the lives of the people who live in the City of West Tawakoni.

Contact the Mayor

Place 1
Leon Myers

Already a member of the Planning and Zoning Commission, he wants to get more involved with the city. “I think there are a lot of good things coming our way. I would like to be a part of that, and I think I could help with some of that” Leon Myers worked in his family’s business, a retail convenience and liquor store in Dallas, located across from the former Sportatorium of Dallas wrestling fame. He said at one time he operated 13 stores and over 100 employees but had downsized to one store after a death in the family.

Contact Place 1 Council Member

Place 2 – Mayor Pro-Team
Linda Kattner

Linda Kattner was appointed to fill an unexpired term and was elected for the next full term in November 2016.  Upon moving to West Tawakoni in December 2013 she volunteered for and currently serves as president of the Indian Oaks HOA. She retired from Oncor Electric Delivery in January 2016 after 35 years of service. She is Vice President of West Tawakoni Economic Development Corporation and a former member of Keep West Tawakoni Beautiful. She was awarded Volunteer of the Year for the City of West Tawakoni in December 2016.  Linda’s goal is to serve our citizens with honesty and integrity while promoting and developing West Tawakoni into the preferred destination it was meant to be for families, business and recreation.

Contact Place 2 Council Member

Place 3
Alan Shoemake

Alan Shoemake was elected to Place 3 in May 2011. And in November 2013 was, for a second term appointed Mayor Pro-tem.
He will come up for re-election in November 2017.

While on the council he was instrumental in updating a lot of the Emergency Management issues pertaining to our city. Along with being part of the initial Tech committee, along with serving on West Tawakoni Park Board. He fully believes that the citizens of West Tawakoni deserve to know what is going on in their city, and is always striving to either answer citizen questions or work hard to find answers for them.

He enjoys helping people and politics seems a perfect fit for his enquiring mind. Holding a degree in Emergency and Disaster Management and working both in Management along with the Medical field, Alan hopes to do more to advance our city growth. Born in Dallas, Texas he has lived most of his life in West Tawakoni. Striving to improve a city that he loves, he feels the people are the ones he serves. Thanks to everyone for another term.

Contact Place 3 Council Member

Place 4
John Hinchliffe

John Hinchliffe was elected to place 4 in November 2016.
He has lived in West Tawakoni since 1990. he studied at Mountain View Collage in Dallas. He worked over forty years there. He is licensed by the Federal Aviation Administration as a Jet Engine Mechanic.
John´s goal for West Tawakoni is to create a positive movement to improve the city. He will work to clean up Highway 276 to attract new businesses to our community.
He plans to promote our beautiful city park.
John loves West Tawakoni and plans to revitalize the city with a positive inviting image.

Contact Place 4 Council Member

Place 5
Dr. Donna Milburn

Dr. Donna Milburn moved to West Tawakoni when she married Chris Bonewitz in 2006.

Her stepsons and her daughter graduated from Ford High School and she fell in love with the city. Donna has her Ph.D. from UT Southwestern Medical Center and has been a clinical / forensic psychologist with a private practice in Plano for over 25 years.
She has volunteered in the Collin County area for many years, providing classes to the community, assisting with scholarships in the school district, volunteering on the Executive and Advisory Boards of the Collin County Rape Crisis Center, and establishing a non-profit Collin County Ballet Guild to assist with the funding of a new ballet company.
Donna was appointed to fill an unexpired term and was elected for the next full term in Place 5 in November 2014. She wants to devote her time and energy to helping the city of West Tawakoni and to be of service to the citizens of the town she cares about.

Contact Place 5 Council Member